Ninth BREAD Conference

Sponsored by:Yale University

Conference location: Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut

Conference Programme

All events will be held at Henry R. Luce Hall, 34 Hillhouse Avenue, unless otherwise noted.

October 20, Friday

12-1 Registration and catered lunch

1-2.15 Emily Oster (University of Chicago), "HIV and Sexual Behavior Change: Why Not Africa?"


2.15-3.30 A. Mushfig Mobarak, Randall Kuhn, and Christina Peters (University of Colorado at Boulder), "Marriage Market Effects of a Wealth Shock in Bangladesh"


3.30-4 Break


4-5.15 Garth Frazer and Johannes Van Biesebroeck (University of Toronto), "Trade Growth Under the African Growth and Opportunity Act"


5.15-6.30 George Judge (University of California at Berkeley) and Laura Schechter (University of Wisconsin at Madison), "Detecting Problems in Survey Data Using Benford's Law"; César Martinelli (Instituto Tecnológico Autónomo de México) and Susan Parker (Centro de Investigación y Docencia Económicas), "Deception and Misreporting in a Social Program"


6.30-7.15 Reception


7.30 Dinner (Pacifico Restaurant, 220 College Street)


October 21, Saturday


9-9.30 Continental Breakfast


9.30-10.45 Miguel Urguiola and Eric Verhoogen (Columbia University), "Class Size and Sorting in Market Equilibrium: Theory and Evidence"


10.45-12 Tahir Andrabi (Pomona College), Jishnu Das (World Bank), and Asim Ijaz Khwaja (Harvard University), "Students Today, Teachers Tomorrow?  The Rise of Affordable Private Schools"


12-1 Catered Lunch


Call for Papers:

The Bureau for Research and Economic Analysis of Development (BREAD) will host its Ninth BREAD Conference on Development Economics on October 20-21, 2006. You are invited to submit a paper for the conference.  The deadline for submissions is September 8, 2006.

Please submit your papers via email to

While all papers presented at the conference will be selected through this open submissions process, please note that we will have time for a very small number of presentations. The conference lasts only 2 days, there will be no parallel sessions, and we plan to leave ample time for discussion.

The programme will be chosen by Chris Udry (Yale) and Mark Rosenzweig (Yale).

Scientific committee members click here