Eighth BREAD Conference

Sponsored by: Cornell University

Conference location: Cornell University, Ithaca, New York

Conference Programme

All sessions will be held in ILR Conference Center Room 225, Cornell University.

May 5, Friday

12-1 Eric Edmonds, Nina Pavcnik and Petia Topalova, "Trade Liberalization, Child Labor, and Schooling: Evidence from India"


1-1.30 Pick up lunch boxes for next session


1.30-2.30 Richard Akresh, "Understanding Pareto Inefficient Intrahousehold Allocations"


2.30-3 Break


3-4 David McKenzie, John Gibson, and Steven Stillman, "How Important is Selection? Experimental versus Non-Experimental Measures of the Income Gains from Migration"


4-4.30 Break


4.30-5.30 Roland Benabou and Jean Tirole, "Incentives and Prosocial Behavior"


May 6, Saturday


9-10 Orazio P. Attanasio and Christine Frayne, "Do the Poor Pay More?"


10-11 Marianne Bertrand, Simon Djankov, Rema Hanna and Sundhil Mullainathan, "Does Corruption Produce Unsafe Drivers?"


11-11.30 Break


11.30-12.30 Erik Bloom, Indu Bhushan, David Clingingsmith, Rathavuth Hong, Elizabeth King, Michael Kremer, Benjamin Loevinsohn and J. Brad Schwartz, "Contracting for Health: Evidence from Cambodia"


12.30-1.30 Lunch


1.30-2.30 Dean Yang, "Coping with Disaster: The Impact of Hurricanes on International Financial Flows, 1970-2002"



Call for Papers:

The Bureau for Research and Economic Analysis of Development (BREAD) will host its Eighth BREAD conference on May 5 - 6, 2006. You are invited to submit a paper for the conference. The deadline for submissions  is February 28, 2006.

Please submit your papers via email to BREAD@lse.ac.uk

While all papers presented at the conference will be selected through this open submissions process, please note that we will have time for a very small number of presentations. The conference lasts only 2 days, there will be no parallel sessions, and we plan to leave ample time for discussion.

The program will be chosen by Kaushik Basu (Cornell) and Ted Miguel (Berkeley).

Scientific committee members click here