Thirty-Second BREAD Conference

32nd BREAD Conference on Development Economics 

Bocconi UniversityMilan (Italy)

30 September - 1 October 2016 


Friday 30 September


Pre-Conference Session for BREAD/CEPR/PODER affiliates



09.00 - 09.25

Sikandra Kurdi (University of California)

Store Credit as Informal Insurance in Rural Yemen


09.25 - 09.50

Margaux Vinez (Paris School of Economics), with Tanguy Bernard (International Food Policy Research), Sylvie Lambert (Paris School of Economics) and Karen Macours (Paris School of Economics and CEPR)

Adoption of Improved Seeds and Land Allocation, Evidence from DRC


09.50 - 10.15

Lucia Corno (Queen Mary, University of London), with Nicole Hildebrandt (New York University) and Alessandra Voena (University of Chicago)

Weather Shocks, Age of Marriage and the Direction of Marriage Payments


10.15 - 10.45

Coffee Break


10.45 - 11.10

Luis Meloni (Bocconi University), with Alberto Chong (University of Ottawa), Claudio Ferraz (PUC-Rio), Frederico Finan (University of California, Berkeley) and Eliana La Ferrara (Università Bocconi and CEPR)

News vs. Novelas: Can Entertainment Media Undermine Dictatorships?


11.10 - 11.35

Travers Barclay Child (Tinbergen Institute and Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam)

We Don’t Need No Education: Reconstruction and Conflict across Afghanistan


11.35 - 12.00

Coffee Break


12.00 - 12.25

Lorenzo Casaburi (Stanford University and CEPR), with Jack Willis (Harvard University)

Time vs. State in Insurance: Experimental Evidence from Contract Farming in Kenya


12.25 - 12.50

Manoj Mohanan (Duke University), with Grant Miller (Stanford University), Katherine Donato (Vanderbilt University), Yulya Truskinovsky (Duke University), and Marcos Vera-Hernández (University College London)

The Costs of Asymmetric Information in Performance Contracts: Experimental Evidence on Input- and Output-based Contracts for Maternal and Child Health Care in India


12.50 – 14.00

Buffet Lunch, Conference Registration


Conference Session 1:  Growth


14.00 – 15.00

Paula Bustos (CEMFI and CEPR), with Gabriel Garber (Central Bank of Brazil) and Jacopo Ponticelli (University of Chicago)

Capital Allocation Across Regions, Sectors and Firms Evidence from a Commodity Boom in Brazil


15.00 - 16.00

Wyatt J. Brooks (University of Notre Dame), with Joseph Kaboski (University of Notre Dame) and Yao Amber Li (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)

Growth Policy, Agglomeration, and (the Lack of) Competition


16.00 - 16.30

Coffee Break


Conference Session 2:  Health


16.30 - 17.30

Anja Sautmann (Brown University), with Samuel Brown (Brown University) and Mark Dean (Brown University)

Subsidies, Information, and the Timing of Children’s Health Care in Mali


17.30 – 18.30

Martina Björkman Nyqvist (Stockholm School of Economics and CEPR), with Lucia Corno (Queen Mary, University of London), Damien de Walque (The World Bank) and Jakob Svensson (Stockholm University and CEPR)

Incentivizing Safer Sexual Behavior: Evidence from a Lottery Experiment on HIV Prevention



Conference Dinner (rsvp only)



Saturday 1 October


Conference Session 3:  Education


09.00 - 10.00

Natalie Bau (University of Toronto)

School Competition and Product Differentiation


10.00 - 11.00

Michael Kremer (Harvard University and CEPR), with Eric Bettinger (Stanford University), Maurice Kugler (Harvard University), Carlos Medina (Banco de la Republica), Christian Posso (University of North Carolina) and Juan E. Saavedra (University of Southern California)

Can Educational Voucher Programs Pay for Themselves?



11.00 - 11.30

Coffee Break


Conference Session 4:  Political economy and Methodology


11.30 – 12.30

Marco Manacorda (Queen Mary University of London, London School of Economics and CEPR), with Andrea Tesei (Queen Mary University of London)

Liberation Technology: Mobile Phones and Political Mobilization in Africa


12.30 – 13.30

Mark Rosenzweig (Yale University), with Chris Udry (Yale University and CEPR)

External Validity in a Stochastic World


13.30 - 14.30

Buffet Lunch



Scientific committee members click here